County Closed Championship

The County Closed Championship is the leading competition in the county for all age groups and disabilities. It is reserved exclusively for players who qualify to represent Durham & Cleveland only. Qualification criteria require the player to be either born in or be currently resident in County Durham, Tees Valley Combined Authority, South Tyneside, Sunderland or Gateshead local authorities. Players can check their playing county in the membership area on the LTA website.

The Championship is a Grade 3 tournament, and is played at Yarm Tennis Club. The 2021 Championship will take place between 22nd – 28th August. Entries are invited from July, and can be made here from 7th July.

Coronavirus restrictions led to cancellation of the 2020 Championship; our current reigning Champions from 2019 are:







8U Boys

Will Morgan

Alfie Herrington

8U Girls

Rejoice Onuh

Ava Rimmington

9U Boys

Lennon Harper Raze

Colgan Thompson

9U Girls

Elisha Lax

Rejoice Onuh

10U Boys

Evan Conway

Oscar Palmer

10U Girls

Divine Onuh

Rachael Szeto

12U Boys

George Bowen

James Paluzzi

12U Girls

Emily Cassap

Lola-Juliet Omran

14U Boys

Ben Wrann

Adam Armitage

14U Girls

Isobel Le Clerc

Isabella Paluzzi

16U Boys

Ben Wrann

Harry Tweed

16U Girls

Isobel Le Clerc

Isabella Paluzzi

18U Boys

Matthew Telford

Joel Gibson

18U Girls

Halle Pringle

Cara Todd

Mens Singles

Matthew Telford

Joel Gibson

Womens Singles

Halle Pringle

Lydia Packer


Anthony Harrison

Sidney Tambin   

VI B2-5 mixed

Steve Trewick

Themba Noel      







12U Boys Doubles

Toby Grant & James Smith

George Bowen & James Paluzzi

12U Girls Doubles

Emily Cassap & Emma Close

Megan Leck & Goodness Onuh

14U Boys Doubles

Jake Grant & Ben Wrann

Adam Armitage & Daniel Smailes

14U Girls Doubles

Vineetha Kandikonda & Isabella Paluzzi

Lola-Juliet Omran & Lucy Potts

16U Boys Doubles

William Marley & Harry Tweed

Jake Grant & Joel Taylor-Foley

16U Girls Doubles

Isobel Le Clerc & Farah Yossry

Emily Cassap & Lydia Packer

18U Boys Doubles

Joel Gibson & Matthew Telford

Callum Macleod & David McBride

18U Girls Doubles

Halle Pringle & Farah Yossry

Beth Laybourne & Isobel Le Clerc

Womens Doubles

Beth Laybourne & Halle Pringle

Isobel Le Clerc & Farah Yossry