LTA Tennis Awards 2022 National Finalists

LTA Tennis Awards 2022

Over 90 grassroots venues, volunteers and coaches join Hewett, Raducanu, Salisbury and Norrie as LTA Tennis Awards 2022 National finalists

Over 90 grassroots venues, volunteers and coaches join Alfie Hewett, Emma Raducanu, Joe Salisbury and Cam Norrie in being shortlisted for a 2022 LTA Tennis Award.

The 2022 LTA Tennis Awards, which celebrate and acknowledge achievements in 2021, will be held virtually on Thursday 19 May, at 8pm and will be streamed live across LTA Channels. For the fourth successive year the evening will be hosted by Great Britain Davis Cup captain and the LTA’s Head of Men’s Tennis, Leon Smith, with a selection of players, celebrities and special guests presenting the awards.

As well as celebrating the achievements of those players on the international stage, the LTA Tennis Awards also recognises individuals involved in tennis at grassroots, county and regional level. 

Over 2,500 entries were received for this year’s awards and were first judged at county level which resulted in 350 winners. The county winners were then put forward for regional awards with regional winners confirmed as the national finalists together with winners from Tennis Wales and Tennis Scotland.

To mark their success at a regional level, alongside advancing to the national finals, all of the regional winners will be presented with a trophy to mark their achievements over the coming weeks.

Durham & Cleveland have 3 national finalists:

Club of the Year 

  • Esher LTC –  Surrey (London & South East)
  • Grantham Tennis Club –  Lincolnshire (Midlands)
  • Yarm Tennis Club – Durham & Cleveland (North)
  • East Gloucestershire Club – Gloucestershire (South & South West)
  • Bridgend LTC – Wales (Wales)
  • Oxford Sports LTC – Oxfordshire (Central & East)
  • Scotland – To Be Announced

Development Coach of the Year

  • Jimmy Smith – Sussex (London & South East)
  • Edward Whetton – Leicestershire (Midlands)
  • Vicky Evans – Durham & Cleveland (North)
  • Philip Loose – Dorset (South & South West)
  • John Whitehall – Wales (Wales)
  • Matthew Watson – Suffolk (Central & East)
  • Scotland – To Be Announced

Lifetime Achievement

  • Graham Sutherland – Kent (London & South East)
  • Jennifer Frow, Herefordshire + Worcestershire (Midlands)
  • Dennis Laycock – Durham & Cleveland (North)
  • Neil Allen – Wiltshire (South & South West)
  • Liz Singer – Wales (Wales)
  • Jim Hunter – Cambridgeshire (Central & East)
  • Scotland – To Be Announced 

To see the full announcement on the LTA please click here.

For Twitter please click here.

To find out more about the LTA Tennis Awards, please click here